Hyperliquid Developments: $638M Buybacks and a Pending US Perps Deal

BiFu Editorial · 2026-09-01 · 5 min read


Table of contents

Hyperliquid developments this cycle run on two separate tracks, and confusing them is the fastest way to misread the news.

Hyperliquid developments this cycle run on two separate tracks, and confusing them is the fastest way to misread the news. On the first track, crypto projects spent a record $638 million on token buybacks so far in 2026, with Hyperliquid and Pump.fun accounting for nearly 90 percent of that total, according to Financial Times figures reported by Cointelegraph. That is an operating change already underway, and it affects token holders and protocol treasuries directly.

On the second track, Decrypt and The Block, both citing Bloomberg, report that Hyperliquid is in talks with Payward, the parent company of Kraken, to route its perpetual futures through Bitnomial, Payward's US-regulated venue. The reports say Payward has presented the CFTC with an outline of the proposed structure, but regulatory approval is still pending. For US traders who cannot currently access Hyperliquid's perpetuals, this is a proposal to verify, not a product to use.

Mapping which claims are confirmed and which are conditional is the practical task here, and it follows a short sequence: check the buyback figure, check the status of the Payward talks, then check what the CFTC has actually received.

The $638 million buyback record and who it reaches

Start with the firmest fact in the set. According to Cointelegraph, citing the Financial Times, crypto projects spent a record $638 million on token buybacks so far in 2026, and more protocols are turning revenue into buybacks to return value to token holders. Hyperliquid and Pump.fun together account for nearly 90 percent of that spend.

The affected participants are specific. Token holders of Hyperliquid's HYPE and Pump.fun's token are the recipients of the returned value, because protocol revenue is being routed into buybacks rather than held in treasuries or spent elsewhere. The protocol treasuries themselves are the other affected party, since buyback spending reduces the revenue available for other uses.

The operating consequence is a shift in how these two projects deploy cash: revenue now flows through a holder-return mechanism at record scale. That is the confirmed change, and it matters now because the 2026 total is a record, meaning the buyback workflow is running harder this year than in any prior period the Financial Times measured.

Payward, Bitnomial, and the reported US perps route

The second development has a different evidence status. Decrypt reports, citing Bloomberg, that a deal would route the decentralized exchange's perpetual futures through Payward's US-regulated Bitnomial, marking Hyperliquid's first US entry. Decrypt also notes the timing context: the reported talks come weeks after Trump said his administration was working to bring the platform onshore.

The Block, also citing Bloomberg, adds a procedural detail: Payward has reportedly presented the CFTC with an outline of the proposed structure, though regulatory approval is still pending. That means two named participants carry the load here. Hyperliquid would gain its first US distribution channel, and Payward would take on the compliance structure, through Bitnomial, that makes US access possible under CFTC oversight.

US traders are the affected users, since the proposal would open a perpetual futures product they cannot currently access through the platform. But no trading workflow has changed yet. The instrument at issue is a perpetual futures contract, a leveraged derivative, which is exactly why the routing runs through a regulated venue and why the CFTC review exists.

Confirming each claim before treating it as fact

Run the verification in order of how firm each claim is. The buyback figure sits on Financial Times data reported by Cointelegraph, and the numbers are specific: a record $638 million in 2026 project buybacks, with Hyperliquid and Pump.fun at nearly 90 percent. Treat that as settled sourcing, subject only to the Financial Times measurement method behind it.

The Payward talks sit on reporting by Bloomberg as carried by Decrypt and The Block. Two independent publishers carrying the same underlying report is meaningful, but it is one root source, and "in talks" means no signed agreement has been announced by any of the three outlets covering it.

The CFTC detail is the narrowest claim: The Block reports Payward presented an outline of the proposed structure, and approval is pending. An outline is not a filing and not an approval, and its contents are not public. Do not upgrade that into a confirmed regulatory pathway.

Limits to keep in view

Several details remain unstated in the reporting, and each one is a limit on how far the read can go. Timing for any US launch is not reported. The product scope for US traders is not specified beyond perpetual futures routed through Bitnomial. The commercial terms between Hyperliquid and Payward are not disclosed. And whether the CFTC acts on the outline, and on what schedule, is unknown.

Risk categories attach to both tracks. The US perps route carries regulatory and jurisdiction risk until approval lands, plus counterparty and operational questions about how a decentralized venue's contracts route through a regulated exchange. The buyback track carries its own limit: buybacks return value to holders, but they do not remove price volatility, and a record buyback year is historical spending data, not a forward expectation about token performance.

None of the reporting tells you where HYPE trades next. Price framing is separate from what these sources confirm, and any claim tying the talks to a specific price move is inference beyond the record.

When to hold off and what to watch next

The next source-document check is concrete. Watch for a CFTC filing or order referencing the Payward-Bitnomial structure, and for an on-the-record announcement from Hyperliquid or Payward confirming a signed agreement. If neither exists, the US perps entry stays a proposal, and trader-facing rollout claims should be read against that limit rather than as a confirmed Hyperliquid development.

Until then, hold the two tracks apart. The buyback figure is settled as reported data: $638 million, a 2026 record, with Hyperliquid and Pump.fun at nearly 90 percent. The US entry is conditional on documents that do not yet exist in public form. If the CFTC outline never becomes a public filing, or the talks collapse without an agreement, the US perps channel remains unconfirmed, and the only operating change on record is the buyback behavior already underway. That distinction, between settled spending data and a pending structure, is the one to carry into any follow-up coverage.

Reference

  • https://cointelegraph.com/news/hyperliquid-pumpfun-90-record-638m-crypto-buybacks
  • https://decrypt.co/376963/hyperliquid-crypto-perps-us-kraken-parent
  • https://www.theblock.co/news/markets/2026-08-31-hyperliquid-eyes-us-entry-kraken-parent-payward-perpetual-futures-deal-bloomberg-413129

Read more from BiFu

Hyperliquid developments this cycle run on two separate tracks, and confusing them is the fastest way to misread the news.

Learn More